Resource List

OTHER ORGANIZATIONS

Freedom Center www.freedom-center.org

Harm Reduction Coalition www.harmreduction.org

MIND UK www.mind.org.uk

Hearing Voices Network www.hearing-voices.org

Law Project for Psychiatric Rights www.psychrights.org

Activist Trauma https://www.activist-trauma.net/

The Icarus Project www.theicarusproject.net

 

From The Icarus Project:

Navigating the Space Between Brilliance and Madness pdf

Harm Reduction Guide To Coming off Psychiatric Medications

Friends Make The Best Medicine Support Manual Draft

Promo flyer for the Harm Reduction Guide, with ordering instructions.http://theicarusproject.net/files/IcarusNavigatingCrisisHandoutLarge05-09.pdf

Activism & Depression article http://theicarusproject.net/articles/activism-depression

Life After Labels http://www.lifeafterlabels.org/

psychOUT http://psyout.tumblr.com/

Communities Magazine Articles on Mental Healthhttp://communities.ic.org/issues/150/Mental_Health_Challenges_and_Hope

Peer Support Crisis Line 804-631-3134 — 24/7 confidential & anonymous hot/warmline. Entirely volunteer-run, no professionals, no calling the police or forced hospitalization. Just peer support, now.

National Suicide Prevention Hotline 1-800-273-8255

Iraq Veterans Against the War http://www.ivaw.org/blog/service-members-have-right-heal

http://www.ivaw.org/resources/ptsd

National Center for PTSD http://www.ptsd.va.gov/

Vets4Vets–Free Peer Support for Iraq/Afghanistan Era Vets http://www.vets4vets.us/

Rock Dove Collective: http://www.rockdovecollective.org

Street Medic Wiki http://medic.wikia.com/wiki/Main_Page

Starhawk’s Resources for Activism Trainers (including medical/civil disobediance/consensus/understanding oppression resources, etc.)http://www.starhawk.org/activism/trainer-resources/trainer-resources.html

Participating in Direct Actions: A Guide for Transgendered Peoplehttp://srlp.org/resources/publications/participating-direct-actions-guide-transgender-people

Nonviolent Communication www.cnvc.org

Transformative Mediation www.transformativemediation.org

Wollman, Neil (2007) Dealing With or Preventing Burnout in Activist Work

 

About Consent:

Beginner’s Guide to Responsible Sexuality http://www.phillyspissed.net/node/30

Example Consent Policies from Medic Wiki

http://medic.wikia.com/wiki/Example_Consent_Policies

 

About Sexual Assault, and Activist Communities Responding to Sexual Assault:

Rape, Abuse, and Incest National Network http://www.rainn.org/

Soul Speak Out: Share your Survivor Story http://www.soulspeakout.org

Dealing with Sexual Assault in Activist Communities from the Northeast Anarchist Network http://neanarchist.net/sexual-assault-resources

Support New York: A Direct Action Survivor Support Network: http://supportny.org/

Philly Stands Up http://phillystandsup.wordpress.com/

 

Books:

firewalkers: madness, beauty & mystery –radically rethinking mental illness. VOCAL, 2009. the firebook.org

Live Through This: On Creativity and Self-Destruction. New York: Seven Stories Press, 2008.

101 Alternatives to Suicide for Teens, Freaks & Other Outlaws. Bornstein, Kate. New York: Seven Stories Press, 2006.

In the Tiger’s Mouth: An Empowerment Guide For Social Action. Shields, Katrina. Newtown, NSW:Millenium Books,  1991.

 

Occupy Sites:

Occupy Winter https://www.facebook.com/OccupyWinterSurvival

Occupy Patriarchy https://www.facebook.com/occupypatriarchy

Occupy Normal http://www.mindfreedom.org/campaign/boycott-normal/occupy

Occupy at Home (grassroots movement of people with chronic illness, disabilities, as well as other people with reasons unable to attend Occupies in “meatspace.”) http://occupyathome.wordpress.com/

Occupy on Wheels https://www.facebook.com/pages/Occupy-On-Wheels-Awareness-Inclusion-Solidarity/148943308537637

Occupy Disabled https://www.facebook.com/pages/Occupy-Disabled/308434755853065

Occupy Mental Health/Psychiatry https://www.facebook.com/pages/Occupy-Mental-HealthOccupy-Psychiatry/230393183684165

Occupy Together (list of global Occupy groups) http://www.occupytogether.org/